Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility New Appointments of Staff

On behalf of Egerton University, I take this opportunity to welcome them to their new roles.

Prof. Isaac O. Kibwage, PhD, HSC. VICE-CHANCELLOR

New Appointments of Staff

The Vice-Chancellor Professor Isaac Kibwage made the following appointments


1. Country Director, African Institute for Capacity Development (AICAD)


Professor Josephine Ouma was appointed the Country Director on 21st September 2021. Prof Ouma is from the Department of Crops, Horticulture and Soils at the Faculty of Agricuture and is a specialist in Agronomy with emphasis on Crop Physiology and with a minor in genetics. She has She has a strong background in agricultural sciences with her research achievements in the areas of providing agronomic recommendations for growing a wide range of crops, including but not restricted to cereal- legume cropping systems, fertilizers use and crop propagation methods. She is a proponent of sustainability of crop production systems with a focus on utilization of organic by-products of agricultural industrial processing in ameliorating soil conditions hence improving long-term soil fertility, crop productivity and conservation of habitat through limitation of agriculture- related contaminants. She has raised substantial research funding from USAID, EU and World Bank in collaborative research teams which has supported research, capacity building of staff and students, other stakeholders in agriculture; upgrading of research facilities in the parent department and in the Faculty of Agriculture. She engages with the broader community, contributing knowledge and skills in social organizations, farmer organizations and other higher education Institutions. She has provided consultancy services to academic institutions nationally and regionally, and served as an external examiner for post graduate theses.


2. Director, Crops Management Research and Training (CMRT)

Prof. Samwel M. Mwonga is the Director CMRT effective 3 September, 2021.








3. Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences

Dr Christine M. Gathiri is the Dean effective 1 Octoner, 2021.


4. Acting Chairperson, Department of Nursing


Mr Noa Mbunya has been re-appointed acting Chairperson of Nursing Department at the Faculty of Health Sciences effective 3 August 2021. Mr Mbunya is a Nurse and a Lecturer with an experience spanning over a decade. He is committed to excellence in nursing scholarship and practice and relishes in positive outcomes in child healthcare, and among trainees under his mentorship. His area of specialization is in pediatric nursing and is licensed and registered by the Nursing Council of Kenya.

The University Council, Vice-Chancellor, University Management Board, staff and students wish the above staff members every success in their new position.

Copyright © 2022 Egerton University
"Transforming Lives through Quality Education"