Message from the Chairman

Written by Egerton University on .

Message from the Chair of Department (CoD) - DR. Charles Recha

Welcome to the department of Geography, one of the three (3) departments under the Faculty of Environment and Resources Development (FERD). The department is located in the FASS Complex (Block A, ground floor) at Njoro Campus. The department has a committed staff of 16 members (11- teaching staff, 2- technical staff, and 3 support staff). Our teaching staff is composed of competent persons of diverse areas of specialization in the subject of Geography (refer to staff list). As a department, we recognize that more than ideology or economic development, what has fundamentally defined states or communities over time has been their place on Earth. It is geography alone that studies places. Cognizant of this fundamental role of Geography, the department has designed its programs in such a manner that it captures the distribution of people and their activities, physical and man-made features, ecosystems and interactions between humans and the environment in a dynamic spatial context. The Department of Geography is strategically positioned to train manpower that will provide solutions to the challenges arising from these interactions. Through the best practices adopted by the University, we aim at the highest level standard in generating and disseminating knowledge for the betterment of humanity. We are warmly inviting you to come and be part of us in this endeavour.



o BSc. (Geography)

o B.Ed (Arts) with Geography combination

o B.Ed (Sci)

o B.Ed (Pri)

o BA

o BSc


o MA/Msc (Geography) on both regular and school-based basis

o MA in Urban Management (Njoro & Town Campus).

o PhD in Geography


o Geographic Information System (GIS) (short course)

Diploma (in Education) - with Geography combination

NB: Most of our programs are offered at Njoro (main), Nakuru Town Campus College, Nairobi City Campus and Baringo Campus.