Written by Egerton University on .

The Faculty of Agriculture is the heir to Egerton College whose history dates back to 1939. However, the Faculty, as it is today, came into being in August 1986, when Egerton College was, by an Act of Parliament, elevated to the status of University College, affiliated to the University of Nairobi.

The Faculty of Agriculture was challenged with the responsibility of launching three degree programmes in the University College , namely;

  • Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Engineering
  • Bachelor of Science in Animal Production
  • Bachelor of Science in Horticulture.

Egerton became a University in 1987 which resulted in expansion of the Faculty of Agriculture. It now has four departments

The Faculty of Agriculture is headed by a Dean who is the administrative and academic head. Assisting the Dean on the day-to-day administrative matters, are two Assistant Registrars.